Leopard Empress

leopard150

I’ve been commissioned to do a lot of black and white illustrations recently. When this occurs, I often find myself creating a vibrant, colourful illustration on the side. It’s almost like a vent, letting some of my creativity escape the confines of the commission. Weirdly, I don’t find these pictures a distraction, rather they keep me on track. Ok, they take a little time efficiency away from the project I’ve been set, but if I didn’t have this outlet, I’d get frustrated with having to work continuously on one piece, or one set of images.

This particular image was created while working on a set of black and white illustrations for ‘The Forgotten and the Fantastical 3’ published by Mother’s Milk Books. The leopard empress is inspired by neotraditional tattoo artistry and was an excellent image for practicing shading and colour blending, particularly in the leopard’s muzzle. I also added a little shading behind the leaves and leopard to help the design pop off the page 🙂

Leave a Reply

