The Autumn Phoenix

ram

I really don’t like summer and I realise that announcing that makes me somewhat of a heathen – in Britain at least. No, autumn is where it’s at for me and I look forward to it every year. I think it’s the colours. I love seeing the masses of green foliage cycle slowly backwards through the colour wheel to the fiery brilliance of the yellows, oranges and reds that set the countryside ablaze, made all the more bold and stunning by the heavy roiling greys of the frequent storms. This is my time of year.

But I wouldn’t want it to last forever. Change has to happen and it is perhaps the driving force of all inspiration. Routine breeds complacency, especially in art. It’s difficult to balance the aim of mastering a technique whilst remaining open to new ideas and processes, and that is something I really struggle with. But I’m working on it. I think I have backed into my little hermit shell with my penwork of late and consequently my reluctancy to risk adding colours to designs has returned somewhat. So no more! Inktober’s coming up (what?! Only two days to go!?) and although undoubtedly the majority of my work will be in monochrome, I will be continuing my colour studies alongside.

And during that 31 day period, the countryside will be dropping its leaves as a phoenix drops its feathers in preparation for rebirth. The foliage, once so fearsome in its blazing hues will shrivel to brown and lie as ash beneath our feet.

Leave a Reply

