Finally complete: The Beerguide Pub Board

I don’t usually rave about work I’ve done, I’m usually just content to say ‘Yep, I’m happy with that’. But now and again, as all artists/illustrators know, there’ll come a day every now and again when you finish a piece and think ‘Whoa, did I really do that?’ and then you’ll sit and stare at it for hours trying to figure out how you did it and why the hell can’t everything you do be that good?

And one such instance happened yesterday as I finally completed board one for The Noel’s Arms Freehouse in Melton Mowbray. I’d been looking into heraldry recently and marveling at the beautiful intricate, flowing designs of coats of arms and old-fashioned pub signs, so when the pub asked me to redesign their boards for this year, I thought it’d be a great opportunity to try it out. The logo for the pub is based on a shield anyway so the heraldry idea fitted in perfectly.The brief for the board was pretty small, mainly to promote the pub’s place in CAMRA’s Good Beer Guide 2015 and having hops as the main focus of the design to promote the pub’s selection of real ale.

So after a creating a rough design and colour mock-up that were accepted on-the-spot, I received the first board and drew out the design. Two nearly solid weeks of painting later and I couldn’t be happier with the result. Nearly every inch of the board is filled with bold colours, the writing can be read from afar (importantly!) and the flowing design draws the eye around the board without getting lost in any one aspect. It’s like everything I ever tried to accomplish with a piece at university has suddenly all come together a year or so too late.

Never mind, the board is now expecting a coat or so of varnish from the landlord and landlady (who are thrilled with it) and it should be on the front wall of the pub very soon. And in the meantime, I can start on the second board. Think I might need today off though…

The gallery above shows the finished board, my initial planning and some close ups of details. Please feel free to NOT tell me about any mistakes I may have made/ any paint spots I’ve forgotten to cover/etc. !

5 thoughts on “Finally complete: The Beerguide Pub Board

Leave a Reply

