The Initial Battle

initial battle

The emotional side of war fascinates me. I can’t even begin to imagine the struggle that soldiers must have to have with themselves before they are ready to face death and potentially kill others, it’s a whole other battle in itself. WW1 is especially poignant. Waiting for the shell barrage to cease, going over the top, running the minefield of shells, mud, craters, the dead and being awaited by the merciless machine guns… I can’t even come close to imagining how mentally overwhelming it would’ve been.

4 thoughts on “The Initial Battle

  1. I absolutely think about the same things, and your style here is incredible. I think this should be on the front of TIME or something. Awesome stuff.

    • Aww, thank you for the brilliant feedback. Yeah I like thinking about the psychological side of situations like this, apart from the feeling depressed afterwards! Thanks again 🙂

    • Thank you, it’s a subject I return to quite often. I think the mental struggle of each individual gets pushed by the wayside in such an enormous situation, which is sadly inspiring somehow. Thank you for the great feedback

Leave a Reply

