Aslan’s bringing the Spring at the Melton Bookshop!

Britain’s slowly crawling into Spring at the moment so that means it’s been time for a new window display! This illustration completes the set of 4 seasonal windows I have created for the shop (although thinking about it, I never did actually post the pictures of the Winter one, better dig them out!). I’m unsure whether this will be my last window for the shop so I’ve made sure to go out on a ‘roar’. I’d originally thought of doing a Narnia scene for the Winter window but that fell through and I’m glad it did, as this quote from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe is perfect for the season:

‘Wrong will be right, when Aslan comes in sight, at the sound of his roar, sorrows will be no more, when he bares his teeth, winter meets its death, and when he shakes his mane, we shall have spring again.’

So here we have Aslan with, dare I say, an absolutely fabulous mane of foliage. The best thing is that The Bookshop managed to source a black chalk pen! I can’t describe how scarce they seem to be in stationary shops but it certainly made the task A LOT easier. I was able to put a lot more detail into the work as I didn’t have to rely on empty window glass for shading and I think Aslan has a lot more impact because of it. So happy Spring everyone for when it comes round!

One thought on “Aslan’s bringing the Spring at the Melton Bookshop!

Leave a Reply

