Female figures sketch

figures2

Following yesterday’s post showing a page of male figures, I thought I’d best practice drawing female characters too. I usually avoid drawing women if at all possible as I find them really difficult to draw, so all the more reason to practice really! One thing I really try to avoid when I do draw female characters is stereotypes. It irritates me in children’s books and some graphic novels where the female characters are depicted bearing emphasised eyelashes and lips and wearing make-up and hair accessories as symbols of their femininity. There are so many women out there with so many different appearances, none of which conform to society’s bizarre conceptions of ‘ideal’. The same goes for men, who I imagine feel equally as pressured to live up to society’s expectations. So for that reason, my sketches will strive to be a stereotype-free zone!

Leave a Reply

