Lagers and tigers and beers… oh my

sketches3

Sorry it’s been a couple of days since I last posted but over the weekend I was approached by the local pub. They had seen my bookshop window illustrations and loved them and they have asked me to design some signs for them to go on the front of the pub! I’ve never done a commission like this before so I’m mega excited. The brief I’ve been given was short and sweet, they mainly want traditional themes of real ale, beer casks, barley, music… and tigers. 

Tigers? Ok, that needs explaining. The Rugby season is coming up and the pub will be showing it live. Our county team is the Leicester Tigers… and that about sums up the explanation really!

So far I’ve been sketching out a few ideas for the boards. I’ve also been jotting some ideas down for a new logo that can be used on letterheads and on their website. The owners said they have had many suggestions for the logo but haven’t found one that’s just right yet so thought that I’ll add an idea or two to the pile as well. I’ve only ever created identity graphics for one client before so my confidence is a bit rocky when it comes to something this big. Either way, hopefully elements from my logo design might be carried through to the final idea. That’d be good to see.

Below are some of the sketches and board ideas that I am going to be showing them this afternoon. Wish me luck!

sketches1sketches2sign designs

Leave a Reply

