Botanatomical snapdragons 3: Not quite so botanatomical anymore…

Snap dragon concept

This clearly shows that my brain cannot focus on a task for more than a few days. My original intention of this week has been to start a sketchbook of plants that I can use as reference material for future illustrations. However, after four days and only a few pages of snap dragon sketches I’ve ended up with this handsome monstrosity.

I enjoy creating character designs and concept art, even if it’s for nothing in particular and, to be fair, the snap dragon is just crying out for a mythical interpretation. I’ve loved these funny plants ever since I was a child so this illustration is probably long overdue. So here is my ‘snap dragon’, as accurate to the flower version as I can make him.

I think I’ll call him Ned.

'Mouth'headfront

Snap dragons from the front, the threatening maw!

Flower cross sectionheadside

The less scary, more grumpy side view.

Right, let’s see what other plants I can warp…

2 thoughts on “Botanatomical snapdragons 3: Not quite so botanatomical anymore…

Leave a Reply

