Observational work for new story

Cow watercolour 1

 

I’m currently writing a children’s book for a competition run by Pan Macmillan. The competition only requires 4 spreads to be entered but I’m aiming to complete the book after my studies. If I’ve spent this much time on it I may as well finish it, if even for my own contentment! The story is set on a farm and considering I live just up the road from a cattle market I don’t really have an excuse not to go and draw from observation. Cows are possibly the best subjects to draw as they stand and stare for ages, which will explain the abundance of cows in my sketch work. I’ll upload some character development very soon.

Leave a Reply

